My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

Reflection

On my way home from work today, I was confronted with a sight that not only brought tears to my eyes but also made me reflect on my own frailty.  There was a gruesome single vehicle accident over the weekend that claimed the lives of the two occupants.  It happened not far from where I live.  This morning on the way to work, I noticed a memorial was set up with a cross and balloons.  On my way home this afternoon, there was a solitary young man sitting on the ground in front of the memorial.  He was sitting crossed legs with his head bowed and motionless.  Although I could not see his face as his back was to me, I could read his body language and it spoke volumes.  It so happened that the accident took place at an intersection, so as I was able to soak in the scene while I waited for the lights to turn green.

A lot of things went through my head and I stared transfixed with this somber scene.  I read the writing on the cross, ‘RIP CARLENE’.   I wondered what went through the victims’ minds as their vehicle spun out of control.  I also wondered about the guy sitting in front of the memorial.  Was he a friend? Family? Was he mad at how sudden death came to claim someone close to him?  I thought of myself as I drove home.  How frail life really is…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

