My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

Titto! Titto!

While chatting with my 5-year old last week, it became glaringly and I could add sadly, apparent that he was quickly morphing from a little innocent and naïve kid into a young, smart boy.  Lately, I have been made embarrassingly aware that no more would my baby jokes and childish pranks work on him.  He is now conversating with Daddy on a more intellectual level.  I now look forward to engaging him in lively discussions and have to be on my game or I would pay the price for presenting a not-too-well-researched argument.

All this makes me a very proud dad feeling as though I am a witness to something big. Something special.  It’s like seeing a caterpillar change into a butterfly but on a grander scale.  I must admit that I am also a bit wistful through all this.  I see my grasp on him loosening as he learns to navigate life on his own.  The lingering cuddles slowly changing into quick, distracted hugs and pecks,  the ‘Daddy, you do it’ turning into ‘No daddy! I can do it by myself!’  I know that my role as a dad is now becoming even more important than it was before but I still cannot help reminiscing.

Kenyan, thankfully, is cresting at the ultra-cute stage.  I am making sure everything is well documented via photos and videos.  The little things he says in his lingering baby talk are priceless.  Right now, one of daddy and mommy’s favorites is when he goes and tickles his baby brother, Treyton while crying ‘Titto Titto! (tickle, tickle).  Maybe it is lost in translation and doesn’t sound all that cute to you but to me, I carry a mental image that I conjure up from time and it never fails to bring a smile to my face, no matter where I am.  TITTO! TITTO!

There’s a song by LMFAO called ‘Party Rock Anthem,’  that has been made into a parody as a theme song for the Winnipeg Jets’ Hockey Team with the line ‘Everyday I’m Shufflin’ changed to ‘Here Comes Dustin Byfuglien‘ (Jet’s player. Name pronounced Buffalin).  Last Saturday, I was awaken to ‘Here comes Mr. Buffalin!’ I opened my eyes just in time to see Kenyan approaching my bed, blanket in tow.  For a split second, I was hovering between laughing at his cuteness and being irritated by my premature awakening. Cuteness won as it always does.

Treyton the almost-two-year-old is starting to climb the ultra-cute hill and doing a great job of it.  With his brothers influences, he’s always surprising everyone with his wit and humor, not to mention his beyond-his-years smarts.  The cameras are out for him as well as he’s providing us with some real good memories.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Titto! Titto!

  1. I’m feeling a similar transition with my daughter as she moves from preschooler to little girl. I’m not sure what to label this stage. Maybe pre-K to K? It seems as significant as the change to toddler.

    Thank you for this post.

Leave a Reply

