My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

Missing Kids

No, my kids aren’t missing.  No kids are missing. Well there are kids missing out there somewhere but that’s another whole new topic.  This blog is just about me missing the KID in my KIDS that is disappearing much too fast.  You got that? Sounds a bit confusing so let me dive right into it without further ado.

Thanks to my boss’ benevolence, I was able to spend some quality time with the family over the holidays.  My time with the boys, (3 and 5 year olds) amplified the fact of how fast they were developing. (Losing the kid in them, make sense now?). Their conversations were no longer senseless babble, but constructive opinions with words that I had no idea they knew.  The worse part was that this was all happening with me in the dark.  Here I was still trying to converse with them using baby-talk.  I had to slam on the brakes on a few occasions when my 5-year-old gave me the look that said, “Daddy, you are embarrassing me here but it’s ok, I’ll teach you.” when I engaged him in something seemingly beneath his intelligence.

I have always been told “Enjoy them while you can as they grow up fast.”  My mental response to this was always, “Not fast enough.” I could barely wait for this supposedly fast growth. I looked forward to seeing the paths they would choose and the traits they would inherit.  Even what they would look like once they lost their baby cuteness. Now that it is happening, I am reluctant to relinquish my hold on the cuddly stage.  The baby talk, the cheek pinching, blowing on their tummies…(You get the jist). Unfortunately, it’s not that cool to engage in these activities with your kids when they are seeking out their independence and testing their own wings.

I am a nostalgic old fart (see my Island Christmas blog), who clings to emotional and physical memories with fierce tenacity.  When my boys are grown up and married, my image of them would still be of the cute little imps that once terrorized my house.  I know I would have days where my eyes would cloud up as I go back through their years. Heck, it is happening now as I write.

Realizing how fast time flies, I have vowed to be part of these transitions and to enjoy whatever baby-moments are left.  I take a bit of solace in the fact that I still have a freshly minted two-year old to enjoy but he is actually maturing even faster than his brothers are. (All thanks to their inspiration).

The milestones will come as they are apt to do and I will gladly accept them and hopefully be there to share in them but my boys will always be my kids in the true sense of the word.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Missing Kids

  1. As a mother of 11 and 14 year old boys, I hear you! I wish I could have just one day to go back in time to when they were little 🙂

    • That’s going to be me one day. I look forward to the milestones ahead but miss the ones left behind. Those are the ones that hold so many memories. Thanks for reading and commenting.

Leave a Reply

