My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

Daddy! Daddy!

Kids say the cutest and sometimes heart touching things and my three little boys are no exceptions.  Every day is filled with gems, both in speech and actions. Other than their sincere I Love You’s, nothing is more profound than hearing them call me Daddy.  Yes, there are instances when I grit my teeth and think Enough with the Daddy Daddy already! Daddy is trying to do something here!  Three kids calling for Daddy all at the same time can be a bit over powering.

When they say Daddy, for an instant I feel a couple of inches taller and more important.  Here are three of the cutest kids in the world calling me daddy. I am their daddy.  It fills me with not only a sense of pride but also a sense of purpose.  To me, there’s a deeper meaning to it.  To me, it means that I cannot lose sight of my roles in these young ones’ lives.  Daddy! Daddy! keeps me grounded and focused.

My Dad abandoned us at a young and sensitive age.  I needed him to help me through the ‘man stuff’.  I needed him so I too could share my stories about our fun times with my friends in school.  I needed him to call me son. I needed to say Daddy! Daddy! to him when I learned to ride my bike.

I know that no matter what, I am always going to be Daddy.  The same lips that scream and yell when Daddy has to dispense discipline are the same lips that say ‘Daddy, I love you’ immediately after. How sobering is that?

One of my main fears when it comes to my boys is that one day I won’t be there for them when they call Daddy! Daddy!  Then I also wonder how can a Dad even think to harm their kids. To betray that innocent trust placed in him… sometimes to a tragic end.  I imagine them crying out to their daddy in confusion as to why their trusted Daddy who is supposed to be there for them to chase away the monsters, is now being worst than those imagined monsters.  Maybe that would explain why there are so many messed up kids out there.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Daddy! Daddy!

  1. Pingback: Daddy! Daddy! Pt. 2 The Reality | Musings Of A Daddy

Leave a Reply

