My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

Having Daddy’s Back

I picked up my 3 year old from school today and the first thing he said to me was ‘Daddy, I don’t care about my Grandpa anymore.’  I asked why and his response was, ‘Because he was not nice to you.  He never taught you how to read or played with you.’  He was of course referring to our bedtime conversation last night.  In case you missed it, read it here.  I had told them about my dad and his early disappearance from my life.

While in the car, my son continued, ‘He didn’t even get to see you get big or see you drive.’ (Out of the mouth of babes…)  That story has indeed hit a nerve it seems.

My reason for telling them about my Dad was solely to educate them on my life and not for them to be vigilantes or harbor ill feelings towards the old man.  That cycle has already been broken.  So although it is a nice feeling to know that my boys have my back, I will now have to do some damage control and teach them the importance of forgiveness.  Should be interesting.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

