My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

A Cornball Blogger

Yesterday, I blogged on the issue of  Beyonce being voted the most beautiful woman in the world.  I had no problem with her being thought of as beautiful as she is indeed a beautiful woman, no doubt about that.  She could even be a front runner for most beautiful celebrity.   I have no problem with the honor bestowed on her or anyone else.  Instead, I have a problem with the last three words in the title, ‘in the world’.   I think it is misleading when those three words are used, it is misleading.  Read more on what I wrote here.

I am very argumentative and opinionated so of course I took it upon myself to argue why I thought it was wrong to name the lovely, oh and BLACK Beyonce the most beautiful woman in the world.  My take was that it was not a very level playing field as I am sure the other countries that make up the world did not not send a delegate.  (Is this another example of the USA’s egotistical side?  Everything has to be the best/biggest/etc in the world?).

A few hours after publishing, I noticed that I a reader had left a comment.  I was excited as I love reading comments from readers but my excitement quickly turned to disappointment and a tinge of embarrassment when I read the following posted by one Nanci Lynn.

U R SUCH A LOSER!! Firstly, we all know there are other beautiful woman in the world prob more beautiful than Beyonce and if they put your wife , the girl next door or any of those ebony beauties on the cover someone else would say the same thing you’re saying about Beyonce about them!! Beauty IS in the eye of the beholder but if a publication, who has NEVER put an ALL black woman on their cover decides they want to FINALLY give and black woman props and if THEY feel she deserves that title along with all the other white woman who have graced their pages (i hope you also complained when they were on the cover) than let it be!! How many times are positive images of african americans projected to the world!! They wont even give our wonderful president his props because he’s a black man!! How could a person of color complain at all!! Yes, beauty is skin deep and Beyonce is the one young artist who we never see drinking, doing drugs, sleeping around with different men, gossiping!! She’s always rehearsing, working on herself and everyone that knows her says she has the best heart, character, morals and treats her friends and family with respect and love!! She deserves her title and prob much more!!! Celebrate our african beauty and if u cant give props where due SHUT UP CORNBALL!

At first I thought of deleting the post before anyone could read it and spare myself the embarrassment of being called Loser and Cornball.  Then I thought of responding in kind and throw out a few barbs of my own.   Cooler head prevailed and I decided against either.  I reread her comments and formulated a level headed response:

Must it always come down to being a BLACK thing? I am not taking anything away from Beyonce. I have nothing against her. I find her quite attractive and one of my favorite female voices around. (After Mariah). Giving her the title of the world’s most beautiful is quite a stretch, won’t you say? After all, like I said in my blog, the world is bigger than Hollywood.

And please go easy on the name calling. My blog is called my take for a reason. You could disagree without malice.

Thank you for reading and commenting.

Nanci, if you are reading this, please note that my blog is called My Vuze and I always reiterate that it is MY TAKE and everyone is entitled to their own, without being chastised.  I like to think that democracy is alive and well, maybe I am wrong.  Also note that had Obama been named most handsome man in the world, I would have felt exactly the same, nothing against the Prez.  I have no argument that Beyonce is everything you have mentioned BUT there are others like her around the WORLD who is all of that AND MORE, did they have a chance to compete? Or was this judging open only to American celebrities?

Note:  I looked upthe word ‘Cornball’ and found out that I am either a popcorn rolled into a ball and flavored with molasses, a person who indulges in clichés or sentimentality, a country bumpkin or I am just unsophisticated.   Sadly, I am a bit of each but again, that’s just my take.

 

Related articles

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

