My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

And forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us…

The Lord's Prayer in a Cemetery in Henderson, ...

The Lord’s Prayer in a Cemetery in Henderson, Kentucky (Photo credit: Lori SR)

How deep is that line taken from The Lord’s Prayer?  Until a while ago, I never paid any mind to the words of that prayer.  Ever since I started uttering words, I was taught it but it had become more of an automatic recital.  It was ‘the automatic pray’.

As my faith matured, I started to seek deeper prayer sessions with my prayers focusing more on depth and meaning.  I also started to meditate, if you can call it that, on the words of The Lord’s Prayer.  I realized then that instead of being ‘The automatic pray’ it was instead ‘The ultimate prayer’.

‘Forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us’ was a very poignant line that stood out in the prayer.  I often ponder on it and it makes me search myself.  Am I really forgiving others for trespassing against me, thereby warranting God’s forgiveness?  Sadly, often the answer is a resounding no.

So saying that, should I omit that line until I could say it without crossing my fingers?  How could I in all honesty, ask God’s forgiveness while I carry around a suitcase of memories?  Memories of the trespasses against me and those who perpetrated them?  I can’t.  We can’t.

Even if you are a non-christian, this can also apply to you.  Forgiving is not based on a belief.  Forgiving relieves us of the burden of hate and animosity that we carry around because we have the person in our mind and maybe plotting revenge.  With forgiveness comes great inner peace.  If you are a christian,  forgiving brings forgiveness.  It is wrong to think that one would need to be God fearing to even thing about forgiving.  It’s like saying I can’t be good because I don’t believe in God.

If you haven’t done so yet, next time you say the Lord’s Prayer, meditate on every line and feel it.  You will see why it is the ultimate pray.

Lord teach me how to forgive others so that I in turn could receive your forgiveness.  Amen

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

