My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

Listen to your kids before someone else does

Kids say the darndest things and in response, we do the darndest thing, we ignore them or shoo them away.

Lately, I am trying to be  more attentive to my boys.  I realize that their timing sometimes leaves much to be desired but I need to understand that their little minds need an outlet.  Who better to vent to than a parent?  I sit and listen to their small age-appropriate dribble and pay as much attention as I would to my boss.

Kids are curious, they need information.  Remember in school, the teachers always told you that the only dumb question is the one you don’t ask?  Same thing should apply to our kids, no matter what age. I think that a lot of issues with kids stem from them not having anyone to talk when they needed one most.

If your kids are starting high school and you haven’t been a good listener to your son or daughter, now is the time to start listening.  Never be too busy and be an active listener.  If you don’t, someone else will.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

