My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

Christmas Presents

2012-12-24 23.03.54As much as I love Christmas, I hate the days after Christmas with almost the same passion.  People are no longer nice, Christmas music and decorations do not have the same effect, in fact I don’t care to listen to Christmas music after Christmas is over.  Coming down from such a high could be a bit depressing.  For some, the high lasts up to New Year.

This Christmas was supposed to be a lean one for us.  We told the boys that they would be getting just one present each.  Amie and I also promised to only buy a small and inexpensive gift for each other.   With buying a new home and finishing our basement, we were not in any position to go all out.  Too bad it didn’t quite turn out that way.  The boys were treated to a mountain of presents to unwrap on Christmas morning.  They weren’t all from us but we did not keep our one-present-per-kid promise.  We, especially me, also did not keep our promise to go cheap on each other either.

2012-12-25 08.54.11

It took the better part of Christmas morning to go through the presents.  The look of pure joy on the boys’ faces made the broken promise worth it.  Kenyan kept repeating,  “This is the best Christmas ever!” and thanked us profusely.  There were enough guns to arm a small army, (I spent all day dodging snipers) there was a Furby, an air hockey table, pool table, games and lots of clothes.  They were spoiled!  The wife was also spoiled as she got a pair of earrings along with other mentionables.  I don’t usually shop for jewelry so it meant a lot to her.

IMG_0087

Talking about shopping for jewelry, do you know how hard and how much effort it took for me to buy those earrings?  I went to store after store then back again.  I tried my best to avoid the stalking saleswomen and their pitches.  Oh and their difficult questions.  “Does she like silver or gold? White gold or yellow?  What’s her birthstone?”  I don’t know!  So many choices.  Would she like a chain with a nice pendant?  Or a ring? Hey, how about a bracelet? Let me ponder this…I think the earring was a frustration purchase.

So yes, Christmas was great this year.  It was good to have my brother and his family in from Toronto and my mom stayed over on Christmas eve night and spent Christmas day with us, making it even more special.  The only disappointment was that we did not attend church on Christmas eve as was customary.

IMG_0073

Kenyan practicing his shooting skills

Kenyan practicing his shooting skills

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Christmas Presents

  1. thanks for the ping!

Leave a Reply

