My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

If You Cook It They Will Come

Man_CookingI am a late bloomer when it comes to cooking, or baking for that matter. I never had much of an interest in making what I eat. In fact, it seemed like it tasted better when someone else made it so why mess with something good?

Then I met amie and she was and still is, one of the best cooks that I have the pleasure of knowing. She was practically a magician in the kitchen, so again, why mess with a good thing?

I realized I had some chef in me begging to come out about 4 years or so ago.  At first I pretended not to hear the knocking but finally relented.  I started small, soups, bacon and eggs, rice, nothing too risky.  Before you know it, I was cooking! Real adult food!

And that’s why yesterday, after a short kitchen sabbatical, I was in charge of preparing Sunday dinner.  I had this recipe for coconut chicken for a few y ears now that I had never attempted.  From the recipe, it sounded like a hit so I decided it was the best time to give it a try.  If I mess up, I could just call on Amie the kitchen magician to turn it into a masterpiece.

Well fortunately, I didn’t need magic, at least not Amie’s.  I did fine on my own.  Boy was it excellent!  The chicken was soft and juicy and the taste of the coconut milk was an added bonus.  The in-laws raved and the kids ate without complaining.  Amie even suggested I cook it next Sunday again.  Now that’s a compliment right there.

529468_10151466090752394_1533887021_n

Primary stages. Sautee

With coconut added and prior to popping into oven.

With coconut added and prior to popping into oven.

So you see, I am not just a basement project/Samuel Jackson’s body double/calypso singing/ guy.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “If You Cook It They Will Come

  1. So dinner next Sunday then? We’ll be there! LOL

  2. I’m a late bloomer in the baking department, as well. In fact, your “buns” article spurred me on to start baking bread. I’m a pro now!

Leave a Reply

