My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

My Financial Strategy

thAlmost everyone has had some sort of financial crisis at one time or another.  It’s part of life.  Unless of course you were born with the proverbial silver spoon in your mouth. Couples are especially susceptible to this because of the extra expenses that come with having a family.  I know of too many couples who although they make above average wage, still cannot escape the long reaches of financial chaos.

I’m not going to pretend that I am a financial whiz or that I have the foggiest idea about money management.  I hate math so managing money is too complicated and stressful for me.  And that’s where my able and capable wife comes in.

Some couples keep separate bank accounts and pay their portion of the bills.  There’s nothing wrong with that if it works for you.  For me, I am happy with having one account.  If I couldn’t trust my wife to manage my money I don’t think I should trust her to be my wife.

I sometimes hear this,  “Well he went and bought himself a (insert expensive item here),  so I’m getting that necklace I have always wanted.  If he could treat himself, I can too.  Plus it’s my money anyways.”  Luckily for my wife, I rarely buy anything.  My  shopping spree is usually Christmas gift shopping.  As long as there’s food in the fridge and the basic necessities in the house, I am happy.  No ketchup or toilet paper is unacceptable.

Now some may say, “That’s nuts! You shouldn’t leave anyone in charge of your hard-earned money like that.  What if you break up one day?”  Well that’s a bit pessimistic, don’t you think?  I am not saying everyone should start handing over their paycheque to their spouses, no questions asked like I do.  We all look at money differently and it holds different places in our lives.  I do like the finer things in life just as much as the other guy but I came from a life where I barely had anything so I value the little I have.  It doesn’t take much to satisfy me.  I can do with and I can do without.  It’s really just money and not the primary source of my happiness.  Plus you can’t take it with you.

So my strategy is, I let the accountant do her job.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

