My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

Volunteering At The Nursing Home

On Friday evening, I took the boys with me to volunteer at the Park Manor Nursing Home which is only a couple of minutes drive from home.  I normally prefer taking just one boy at a time as they get a bit unruly but I had no choice as mom had plans for the afternoon.

Nursing-Homes-Women-Seated-in-LineI have volunteered there for a few years now.  They are run by the Seventh Day Adventist Church and as I volunteer on Friday evenings, (Beginning of Sabbath), I am in charge of leading the residents in singing worship songs.  It’s fun and the boys get to sing their favorite song, “Jesus Loves Me’ much to the delight of the residents.  Once I started to take the boys with me, it became more about them than about me.  I noticed the therapeutic effect of it.  They won’t admit it but I think the boys also enjoy the attention they get.

I was dismayed and sad to notice that a couple of my favorite residents were ‘missing’.  They were the ones that participated the most in the song singing so they were really missed.  Plus, I often joked with them.  I guess that’s to be expected, sadly.

I am hoping that by exposing the boys early, they would realize the importance of volunteering and being compassionate to the old and needy.  I hope.

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Volunteering At The Nursing Home

  1. robind333 on said:

    What a great idea! Great post and many, many blessings to you…Robin

Leave a Reply

