My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

The Real Biggest Losers

The Biggest Loser: Pinoy Edition (season 1)

The Biggest Loser: Pinoy Edition (season 1) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

I was driving downtown a few days ago and saw a billboard announcing that Jillian Michaels of The Biggest Loser reality show was going to be in the city as part of her motivational tour.  Admission ranged from $47 to $93, before taxes and fees I suppose.

 

With my limited knowledge of what exactly is motivational speaking, I immediately questioned, mentally of course, why anyone would pay to hear Ms. Michaels say basically the same thing she says on her workout videos.  Ok people, get your butts out of your chairs and exercise!  You can do it. You can also stop smoking if you put your mind to it!  Come on! Let’s go!  There, you get the general idea.  I could even say it in her voice and you get it all for free.

 

I admit, I am not much into motivational speeches.  I figure if I have to wait for someone to tell me that I’m a fat lazy slob who needs to get his butt out his lazyboy and get some exercise, then I need more than a speaker, I need a motivational ass-kicker.  But if you want to dish out your hard-earned money to listen to a celeb fling some old clichés at you, knock yourself out.

 

Same goes for retired politicians.  Bill Clinton for example, apparently he makes six figures giving speeches.  He shows up at these dinners where the cost per plate is a few hundred dollars and say stuff.  I love Bill.  He’s one of my favorite American Presidents but I am not so sure that I would be willing to pay a dollar to listen to anything he has to say.  I used to work for an egotistic boss who had a photo of him shaking hands with Bill Clinton.  He paid his fee to listen to the speech then paid extra to have a photo of him with Bill.  Poor little insecure man.   But seriously, what could Bill Clinton say that won’t make me doze off?  Relate his political experience?  Couldn’t care less.  His affair with Monica?  Still don’t care.  Life as an ex-president?  Yawn.  See? I don’t do speeches.  Told ya!

 

Don’t be like me.  Shell out some cash and get motivated but don’t take it personal if I call you The Biggest Loser.  It’s just my take.

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The Real Biggest Losers

  1. Reblogged this on My Day Out With An Angel and commented:
    nice

Leave a Reply

