My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

Forgive Me Father For I Have Sinned

th (1)As a kid growing up in the Catholic church, I had to take my First Communion and also Confirmation.  Us kids were excited to make our First Communion as it meant we could ‘partake’ in holy communion.  To most of us, we were just happy to do what that adults did.  Plus it involved eating that ‘bread’ and drinking that ‘wine’.   Bread and wine sounded not too bad.  But before we could be awarded with such a prize, we had to first go to confession.

Confession meant kneeling at the side of a small room inhabited by the father. (preacher).  We would tell him what we did wrong (sins) and he would forgive us on behalf of God.  Well the problem was, we barely knew right from wrong and had to go to pre-confession classes so the nuns could tell us what to say.  Beep!  Shouldn’t confession be a bit more private and personal than that?  A few of my friends confessed to stealing bread from the dinner table.  I confessed to lying even though I didn’t know of any recent lies I had told.  I also confessed that I had stolen dried milk and sugar from my parents.  Something kids enjoyed from time to time.  To me and my friends, confession was a joke.  We confessed what they wanted us to confess.  We were not penitent.  We were too young to understand what it really meant.  Which brings me to the reason for this post.

A friend of mine has a young daughter who is about to make her first communion.  Or is it confirmation?  They are basically the same to me.  Anyways, she told me that she’s attending confession and knowing her tender age,  (She’s not much older than my 6-year old)  I immediately remembered my first experience.  I am sure her daughter does not fully grasp the concept of confessing her sins.  Her kiddie sins.   Can you imagine that little girl going home after confession and changing her ways? Staying in her room reading her bible?  I can’t.  I didn’t.

So do you really think kids should go to confession?  Ignore the fact that confessions should be solely between a person and their God.  Remember that after God died on the cross, the way was opened for us to communicate directly with him and through and intermediary but we won’t go into that right now.  Should kids go to confession?  I think not, but then again

It’s just my take.

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Forgive Me Father For I Have Sinned

  1. Well, I’m not Catholic, and my church doesn’t have confession, per se, but children shouldn’t be expected to “confess their sins” until they really understand what that means. This, of course, will depend on their individual maturity, but I don’t see that happening at all before at least 7 or 8.

    Confessing sins is also a really personal thing, and kids should be allowed to do it when they are ready, and not rushed into it. I don’t really see a need for formal confession at all unless there is a serious problem with the child’s behavior.

  2. I totally agree with you – we should be communicating directly to God. I was raised in a Protestant Church that taught me to confess my sins to God. Then I became Catholic because my husband grew up in that faith and our children were attending Catholic school. I had to go to my first confession, got re-baptized and we renewed our vows. For the next 20 years, I went to confession on occasion but I was never comfortable doing so. Telling my sins to a 3rd party did not make sense to me. My children didn’t really understand what they were doing when they went to confession either.

    I’ve now changed back to a Protestant Church – one that is totally Bible based and I believe that children and adults should be confessing their sins to God. He is the only One who counts.

  3. Reblogged this on medtitou31 and commented:
    من مليون واحد إلى واحد: كوسة والكينوا البازلا حلوى مع الأعشاب الطازجة والفلفل الحار فريسنو

  4. Reblogged this on My Day Out With An Angel and commented:
    Nice one

Leave a Reply

