My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

Mikhail’s First F-Bomb.

images

While driving the boys home last Monday evening, Mikhail piped up that his gym teacher took them to a haunted place.  He said it was haunted because there were writings (graffiti) everywhere.  “Daddy, there was f**k and s**k my pee pee”, he said innocently while I audibly gasped.  Say what?!

Now you must understand that my wife and I are not trying to shelter our boys but we are doing our best to let them learn the world a little at a time for fear of sacrificing their innocence.  So when Mikhail said that, I was understandably shocked.   I felt robbed! I was supposed to be the one teaching him about the f word when the time was right.  Obviously the time was right and it came but I wasn’t there.  It was like your young teenaged daughter getting pregnant before you could have ‘the talk’.

As I drove home, I composed a letter in my head that I was going to send to the principal as soon I got home.   “How could your teachers expose my boy to that?  Didn’t they know where they were going?  Did they scope it out first? Why didn’t the teacher called me and let me know about this?  I could have prepared myself better.

I decided to call the next day instead.  Bright and early.  No, even better, I’ll go there on my break.  Nah, can’t wait, I’ll email right now. So I emailed.  As I was about to press the ‘send’ button, common sense kicked in.  Wait a minute.  Could it have happened if I had taken the boys somewhere I’d never been before?  Yes.  Would it be best to not make a big issue out of it and hope Mikhail forgets about it?  Yes.  Am I making too much out of it?  I think so.   I deleted the email.

Amie told me later that she also felt a bit sad about it.  To her it was as though a part of her little boy’s innocence was lost.  We haven’t brought it up with Mikhail since that day.  I am glad I didn’t make a big deal out of it now as I would have had some explaining to do both to him and his brothers.

This morning, after I had drafted this post, Mik whispered to me that there was another bad word that he saw.  I asked him to spell it because the other little sponges lurked nearby.  He spelled b@@ch.  Now how did he know that it was a bad word when we’ve never talked about it?  I am still not sure about this one, folks.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

