My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

Is it possible to live life to the fullest?

th (1)I was watching a movie a while back where the heroine was misdiagnosed with cancer and was given a few weeks to live. She immediately quit her job and went on a spending spree, traveling the world and enjoying the finer things in life that she was too busy to do before. The moral of the story was that we all should enjoy life to the fullest and basically live like we were dying. After the movie was over, I experienced a brief moment of clarity. That was so cool! I would like to live like that. I could live like that starting tomorrow! Then reality reared its ugly head. Ahem! You have three kids, a mortgage and job.

There are days when any of those ‘happy triggers’ could be cause for stress. How do I live life to the fullest when I’m busy doing the boss’ bidding so he could maybe live his life to the fullest? How can I throw caution to the wind and just sail along merrily while my three little boys are waiting on me to help them to live their infant lives to the fullest? And the mortgage? I am sure the bank won’t wish me all the best if I told them I will pay them in my own time as I am enjoying my life to the fullest and paying bills was not part of the fun.

But it looked so good in the movies though. In reality, can I, or even you, really live life to the fullest? Maybe not in the true sense of the word. My fullest would include traveling with just the wife, yes no kids, to see the world. It would include sleeping in when I want and eating whatever I want. I don’t see that happening anytime soon. Or anytime for that matter. Even winning the lottery does not guarantee a full life.

So my other option is to make the most of what I have and enjoy what I have been blessed with. Kids, a house, a job…Yes, I would love to sit and read a book without interruptions but the trade off is sometimes more rewarding. Maybe I’m wrong. Maybe it’s possible to live my life to the fullest. Maybe I’m doing that now, even though I know that I would still enjoy seeing the world, just me and the wife.  That would make my life that much fuller…

th

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Is it possible to live life to the fullest?

  1. I’ve come to a few of my own conclusions about this question, myself. I’ve really changed my perspective on what I think living life fully is. To me it’s no longer about where I go or who I am, even, it’s really about the simplistic moments of happiness. I’ve started to see that a full life is one where I’m present and here, with whatever my surroundings may be.
    I don’t know if it’s the answer for everyone but for me it’s made my life spectacular, and there’s nothing I require from the external for it to be that way.
    So, really this all comes down to the question: what is fully living? I imagine the answers will vary with the people.
    Great post ~ I really enjoyed these meaningful ponderings of yours! 🙂
    ~ Andrea

  2. It’s like you’re in my head

Leave a Reply

