My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

Wednesday’s Wisdom: Overusing The L Word

imagesThe other day as my wife was leaving for work she said, ‘I love you’ and without much thought to what I was about to say, I replied “Love you too”.   To me it sounded mumbled and noncommittal but she was fine with it and so was I.  It was the normal response to someone saying, “I love you”.  A mumbled “Love you too” without any sincerity.  Even my sons do it.  It’s expected.  It’s what we want to hear.  We don’t care if the person meant it or not.  The L word was used and that’s good enough.

After I said it to my wife, I thought about it for a while.  Wait a minute! That sounded so weak and fake.  Sure I love her and she knows this but what’s with the insincerity?  After all LOVE is a good thing to be happy and proud about, right?  LOVE should be yelled.  LOVE should be spoken with the sincerest of tones.  Not squeezed out like a tortured whimper.  We should never allow ourselves to get numb by the over-familiarity of the word.  It’s almost like someone who regularly uses swear words, after a while it becomes second nature to punctuate their speeches with profanities. So it is with LOVE.  It gets used in our everyday slangs and speeches without conscious thought.  That’s why it is so easy fo to say “I love you” to  someone then turn around and hurt them soon afterwards.  Because the implications of what they said was lost on them.  I bet if I walked up to a random stranger on the street and go “I love you” they would reply “Love you too” or at least start replying before they even realize what they are saying.

To experience the full power of LOVE, we need to say it and mean it.  With conviction.  Next time you tell your loved ones you love them, think about the word as it roll off your tongue. If you don’t feel it in your heart, it’s not love.   And that’s why I think there are so many shortcuts to say  ‘I love you’.  Because too often it’s basically just a cliché.  There are now many shortcuts to say those three little words.  Why? Because when we say it using shortcuts, it’s as if we really didn’t say it.

Ever watched a scene in a movie where a couple is getting hot and heavy and the girl gently pushes the guy off so she could look him in his eyes and say, “I love you” and he pushes by her defences and mumbles “Love you too” while his head is buried in her neck?

Just my take and I’m not a love guru so what do I know?

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Wednesday’s Wisdom: Overusing The L Word

  1. I agree. Love is a word that is way overused. We could be walking along holding hands with our spouse and say, “I love you”, then see a shiny pair of shoes in a window and say, “I love those shoes”. How ridiculous! No wonder the word doesn’t have much of an impact. It often goes in one ear and out the other.

  2. when i was reading this i laugh because what you say is true when we say it we await a responses, no doubt in our mind it is true once it is said

Leave a Reply

