My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

Eight Years Ago Today

esb155_largeOn July 30th 2005, I was lucky to be the groom to an angelic bride.  The day celebrated by blessing us with sunshine and a gentle breeze.  The ceremony was perfect and the presiding minister did a great job in keeping things light but still serious enough.  Yes, I remember that day as if it was only yesterday.

After the church, everyone went to do whatever people do during that break between ceremony and reception while the poor couple endure hours of posing for that perfect photo.  Look left. A bit more…like this.  Ok, now you hold her hand while she looks directly and lovingly into your eyes.  There! Hold that pose!  We were so caught up in the moment that we didn’t mind being man-handled into positions.

My favorite pose

My favorite pose

My favorite part of any wedding is the reception and mine was also my favorite part of our day.  So many smiling faces.  Even those who weren’t smiling at first soon smiled as drinks from the open bar relaxed their facial muscles.   The DJ did a remarkable job playing music for the mixed cultures in the room.  Talking about mixed cultures, introducing the tables was like reading the guest list at a United Nations party.  Guests came from New Jersey, Washington DC, St. Vincent and The Grenadines, Vancouver, Toronto, Montreal and many places I can’t remember.  (Yes, I know I said I remembered like it was yesterday).  I think the locals were outnumbered.

Oh Happy Day!

Oh Happy Day!

We danced, we laughed, we took photos, lots of them and we shared stories.  With an hour of partying to go, it turned into one big dance floor with everyone from toddlers to the elderly moving to Caribbean beats.  Then the last note faded away and we were left standing like the losers in a game of Musical Chairs.  Outside, the weather still in celebration mode, sent down showers of blessings and capped it off with a fireworks display as lightning danced across the skies.

She's giving the day two thumbs up!

She’s giving the day two thumbs up!

For our guests, that was it.  Another wedding. One of maybe a few on their schedule that summer.  For Amie and I it was the beginning.  After the last dance, it was just us.  Starting out on a journey together not knowing what the future holds.

So far, the journey has been a good one.  Three boys as cute and smart as any kid that I could have wanted, a home full of love while surrounded by a supporting cast of great friends and family.   God has blessed us indeed.  God has blessed me indeed.

Happy Anniversary, baby!

<iframe width=”560″ height=”315″ src=”//www.youtube.com/embed/E_csD32eXVg” frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

