My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

Fun At Fun Zone

imagesOn Wednesday, I took this Daddy Day Care thing up a notch.  I went to Fun Zone.  Fun Zone is a drop-in for parents and care givers to bring their pre-school kids.  It is ran in the basement of our church and parents sit around with other parents and engage in adult conversations while their little ones engage in little-ones activities.

Fun Zone is a great idea.  The parents enjoy the time chatting and having coffee.  (The coffee is actually good too, with different flavors to choose from).  The only downside is there are not too many dads dropping in.  As a matter of fact, I was the only dad yesterday.

At first I found it weird and chose to spend my time playing with the kids.  They made me put on angel wings and pumped gas in their toy cars.  Then they used me as a punching bag.  But it was fun and kept me away from the women and their uncomfortable women conversation.  The kids finally wore me out and reluctantly, I went and sat with the women.  I sat on the chair farthest away from the group so as not to be mistaken for one of them. That didn’t work.  Before long, I was up to my neck in girltalk.  Ok, maybe some of it wasn’t really girl talk but coming from the mouths of women, it sounded like girltalk.

I had a great time at fun zone!  I forgot that I wasn’t one of the ladies and didn’t feel out of place one bit.  They reassured me that the occasional man usually drops by.  One such man stayed upstairs while his kids played downstairs.  His lost.  If I want to be an efficient stay at home dad, then I’d better get use to hanging with the fun zone moms.  These women know their stuff.  They are in the zone!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

