My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

Kitchen Nightmare A Viewer’s Nightmare

English: Gordon Ramsay in 2010.

English: Gordon Ramsay in 2010. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I accidentally caught a little bit of the FOX reality show, Kitchen Nightmare,  have you seen or heard of it?  It was accidental as I barely watch tv and it happened to be on that channel because my mom was watching her soaps earlier and left the television on.

I admit, I don’t know the premise of the show, which makes me unable to render judgement other than my own opinion.  I heard the show before I saw it.  I heard a guy yelling with his verbage punctuated by bleeps.  I looked at the tv and saw a guy, later identified as Chef Ramsay, thanks to some Google sleuthing on my part.  He was yelling at a woman about her presentation.  It was belittling to watch.  I felt embarrassed for the poor woman standing there being treated like a misbehaving child.  People get a kick out of this crap?  Seriously?  Like I said, I don’t know what the show is all about and maybe the script calls for Ramsay to be a jerk, in which case he’s doing a stand up job.

I actually cringe when I see or hear an adult talking to another adult as though they were stupid or infantile.  (Am I normal?).  I would not stand there and let Ramsay or anyone else talk down to me like he was doing in front of millions of viewers.  (Do millions watch FOX?).  The woman was cowering as he got up in her face.  Somewhere, someone enjoyed this faceoff and somewhere, someone made a lot of money.

Maybe I’m just too old school and not much fun, in which case, ignore me and don’t let me rain on your parade.  Don’t forget that it’s all just…

MY TAKE.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Kitchen Nightmare A Viewer’s Nightmare

  1. I feel the same way. There is no excuse for being rude and belittling someone and I can’t understand how people can actually enjoy watching this happen. This man is a bully and he obviously likes making people feel bad so he can feel powerful. The ugly truth is, Chef Ramsay struggles with insecurities and fears probably because he was bullied or abused himself and he takes out his pain on weaker people. It’s all done for the sake of money, no matter who gets hurt or who looks stupid.

Leave a Reply

