My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

You Liked That?

thRecently, my cousin announced on Facebook that her mom fell and hurt herself badly.  Not surprisingly, someone who either failed to completely read the status or was just like-happy, clicked ‘like’.   What they liked about that? I really don’t know.  Some of us are a little to quick on the draw when it comes to liking statuses.  We go around clicking ‘like’ with reckless abandon.  Now, the ‘Like’ button does not come with a manual and so in this post, I will give you a few pointers on how to be a good and relevant liker.

Take the above example for instance, do you really think it deserved a ‘like’?  What’s to like?  That’s why there’s a button right next to it called, ‘comment’.  Say something sympathetic or say and do nothing.  If someone announces a birth, graduation or any personal achievement, go nuts with the ‘likes’.   Photos are perfect to be liked.  Cute baby, I think I like.  Mmmm….Food!  Big ‘Like’.  Do not like photos of crashes or someone in sticky situations, comment instead.  So sorry about your mom falling, I wish Facebook had a ‘dislike’ button so I could click on it.

And that ends my tutorial.  And you guessed it, it’s just MY TAKE

Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “You Liked That?

  1. rudybaal on said:

    Looking good

  2. Well I can see your point on why would someone like that status. However, on ones about crashes and such a lot of people click like because it shares it with others…so you are not really saying you “like” something bad happen it is just a way of sharing it with others on your page without actually sharing it on your wall. That is why so many news articles about bad things have likes.

  3. I totally agree (and I’m guilty of this too). “Liking” something is sort of like nodding at someone when they need a hand. It’s for the I’m-too-busy-for-you person we’ve all become. Thanks for calling it out–it’s why I’m commenting here. Love your blog, by the way.

Leave a Reply

