My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

Don’t Mean To Rain On Your Gay Parade, But…

nyc-gay-pride-3Yesterday my wife and I took the boys to the Children’s Museum for my cousin’s 5th birthday party.  The museum is at the Forks and it so happened that the Winnipeg Gay Pride Parade was winding down also at the Forks.  It was quite busy with lots of rainbow colors and great music.  After the party, my wife and I decided to walk around and check it out for a bit.

Now I am not anti-gay nor am I pro-gay. Just to set the records straight. I don’t care what people do with their lives as long as it doesn’t interfere negatively with mine.  I am cool that way.  The world is big enough for everyone to exercise their rights to be what they want to be.  Heck, as I walked through the throng of happy people, proud in their gayness, I was wearing a rainbow wristband with the saying, “Show your pride everyday”.  I am also cool like that.

What I couldn’t understand though was why the paraders were so ‘out there’.  Dressed outrageously, sexplicitly and sometimes more like circus clowns than anything else.  We have parades to show our black heritage but you never see us dressed like slaves or cannibals, do you?  We also don’t  show off our manhood as proof of our ‘blackness’.  I mean, can’t you parade wearing normal clothes?  What’s with the guys I saw with most of their butts exposed?  What’s with the young girls wearing just panties and bras?  Is that what being gay is about? I am sorry, I had no idea.  Pardon my ignorance.  I thought being a gay or a lesbian person was just a sexual orientation.  But then, I also thought that these parades were just public expressions of that preference and a gesture for acceptance.  I may be wrong but can’t one be gay or a lesbian and still dress heterosexually?  You really don’t need to show examples of what the lifestyle is about.

Again, pardon my ignorance but I really don’t think anyone could be taken seriously while dressed like some of these people were.  Mind you, many were decently clothed and behaved appropriately.  I understand the issues of the LGBT community.  I am all about equal rights and acceptance but when you parade around dress like an idiot at a public place attended by young kids, I can’t accept that. I can explain the reason for the parade to my young boys but how do I explain your indecent exposure?  “Son, don’t be gay or you would look like the guy in the photo?”

Here’s my take, if you are going to dress like a freak, please don’t take offense if you get mistaken for one.  But that’s just MY TAKE.  Maybe I’m wrong here and that’s EXACTLY what this gay parade thing is all about. In which case, I am truly sorry.  Didn’t mean to rain on your gay parade.  Carry on!

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Don’t Mean To Rain On Your Gay Parade, But…

  1. I know! Isn’t it outrageous? The other day I was at a restaurant and these people came in and actually sat at the table beside us. I thought, “How dare they think they’re equal citizens!”
    They should have lowered their heads and taken their food to go- obviously.

    • Interesting take BUT not what I had in mind. They ARE equal citizens. The overexposure is what I’m talking about, not the lifestyle. To each his own, but with some discretion. Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

