My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

What the heck is wrong with you people?

My Bed by Tracey Emin

My Bed by Tracey Emin (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I know the world is messed up and I am sure you do too but sometimes you either read, hear or see something that still makes you surprises you to how messed up it really is. Take for example last Saturday. I was reading the Arts and Life section of The Winnipeg Free Press when a story captured my attention. Well the headline did.  ‘Artist’s messy bed likely worth more than $1M‘ So I read more. Tracey Emin, someone I have never heard of before, apparently had her bed up for sale as a work of art. The bed, left unkempt during a bout of depression, was still unmade and littered with vodka bottles, cigarette butts and used condoms… Well it said discarded, not used. I assumed used. Tracey had a bad breakup, got depressed, didn’t clean her room or make her bed and it sat there like that in all its intact grossness and now supposedly is a thing of beauty. Art. Worth one million dollars! What the heck is wrong with you people? This reminded me of Yoko Ono’s own offering. A pile of dirt. That too was seen as artistic. Read my take on it here. People are dying from lack of food, people need basic necessities to survive, yet it’s acceptable to spend millions on a dirty unmade bed with used condoms and cigarette butts in the name of art? When I said we were doomed as a society, I lied. We are doomer.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “What the heck is wrong with you people?

  1. Agreed. People should be more concerned about helping people in need than wasting money on something so ridiculous. I personally find this disgusting, but some idiot out there will probably waste their money buying it.

  2. eww. So all I need to do to wipe out student loan debt is sell my unmade bed? I never make my bed and I don’t like to clean either.

Leave a Reply

