My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

And That’s Why I Don’t Watch The News

I read recently with utter disgust and anger, a news article about an Afghanistan woman who was murdered for some concocted reason.  “Although details are unclear, some witnesses suggested that the attack was sparked by a dispute Farkhunda had with the mosque’s imam. Whatever the case, the mob was bent on killing her in the most horrific manner. They dragged her body with a car, then burned it and threw it into the Kabul River.”  Even though I hear stories of women being murdered and treated like crap in that part of our world but this still astounds me.  IT IS 2015!!

To further perplex me and raise my blood pressure, the story went on to say, “It took two hours to murder her, the brutality unfolding as hundreds of people and armed policemen watched, doing nothing to save Farkhunda from her assailants. The neighborhood police headquarters was about a five-minute walk from the mosque. Many witnesses shot photos and videos with their smartphones.”  How sick does that sound?

Hundreds of people and armed policemen! These people were no less criminals than the actual perpetrators! They watched a woman, a sister, a daughter, being murdered in the most inhuman and savage way and did nothing.  Well not exactly nothing, some took photos and videos. I want to vomit. I am ashamed to be a part of this human race that has the capabilities to inflict such harm on a fellow human.   I am sure an intervention would have been swift and unanimous if a dog was being kicked by its owner.  Or a cow yelled at in India.

Almost two weeks ago, a 74-year-old nun was raped! A nun for goodness sakes. I know we have come to expect this sort of violence against women from ‘that part’ of the world but we shouldn’t. It doesn’t matter if the victim was from India or Afghanistan or the USA, it’s still the same and we should not expect or tolerate it. Don’t say, ‘Oh it’s their culture, it’s their religion’.  It’s a human life plain and simple.  Maybe she did burn the Koran, but isn’t it written somewhere in that same Koran that murder is not tolerated? If not, it should.

I am angry, I am disgusted, I am sickened and saddened…And that’s why I don’t watch the news!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “And That’s Why I Don’t Watch The News

  1. That’s exactly why I don’t watch the news. People are so inhumane it is disgusting!

Leave a Reply

