My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

Bothering God?

Image result for prayingHave you ever felt that some things are not worth bothering God about? Like that headache that’s keeping you from going out with your friends or the pimple that suddenly showed up just when you finally had a date.  Dear God, please make this embarrassing thing go away so my date could go well.

I know we are supposed to take everything to the Lord in prayer but when tens of thousands are dead and thousands more affected by earthquake in Nepal and other disasters around the world, parents mourning the murder of their young child, my embarrassing cold sore pales in comparison.  So I don’t.  I know HE’s omnipotent and can see all and do all but still…I can’t help but feel selfish asking God to attend to my selfish and petty wants while others are in dire need.  Instead, I choose to pray for those whose needs exceed my own.  And there are many of those.

Don’t you agree? Or is it just My Take?

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Bothering God?

  1. I thought I was the only one who felt that way. But I try to intercede for other while asking God for my needs. He is all-knowing and He knows exactly what to do.

  2. Prayer was always confusing to me until I started studying it deeper. God wants us to have an open conversation with Him about meeting our needs or the needs of someone else. It doesn’t matter if it is something small or unimportant if it comes from our heart and God will answer our prayer in His way and His time. The more time we spend in prayer, the closer we get to God and our prayers become less selfish and more caring of other people.

Leave a Reply

