My Takes

Just my humble opinion…

How Did I Survive?

Sometimes I wonder how the heck did I make it this far.  For instance, as I placed my food into the microwave last night, I thought of my boyhood days.  I would eat cold soup and cold rice without noticing the difference.  The only thing that mattered was that I was eating. I was being fed.  In fact, back then I had no idea that it was even possible to warm up food without putting it on a stove top or an open fire.

I also showered with ice-cold water.  It was like showering with your shower turned to the cold setting.  Try it next time.  I never once thought to myself, “Oh I wish the water was warmer.” On an extremely hot day it did get a bit warmer.  That would be like moving your shower tap half an inch from the cold setting.

How did I rendezvous with my friends back then? I would take a chance that they would be at home and actually walked to their houses.  I had no way of texting to alert them of my visit.  The funny thing was, it didn’t matter.  I never wished for a better way of communicating with my friends so I could know what they were doing and where they were every second of every day.  No, the idea would have seem absurd then.  When we played with a game of war, hiding behind trees while pointing sticks or even our fingers at each other and going ‘bang!’ it seemed as realistic as it could get.  I never wished we could play it in HD on a big television screen, with my choice of sophisticated weaponry.

So how did I survive then when I can barely survive now without these things?

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

